Niagara Area Foundation

Whether enjoying a musical performance or strolling renowned waterfronts, Niagara County is a place where entertainment and beauty collide. When it comes time for generous individuals to help support causes and organizations they care about in this region, they turn to the Niagara Area Foundation (NAF).

Established in 2000 by local community leaders, the NAF is committed to strengthening Niagara County by addressing critical needs to improve lives.

In 2022, the NAF went through a strategic planning process to identify the evolving needs of Niagara County and reprioritize its goals. As a result, for the 2022 grant process, the NAF considered applications with maximum positive impact in Niagara County that align with one of the Council’s two goals:  

  • To build stronger communities through the enrichment of youth, positive youth development and equity and inclusion
  • To support and enhance education and awareness about the importance and creation of a healthy, vibrant and safe ecosystem for Niagara County residents

More than $60,000 in grants were awarded to: Be-A-Friend Program, Inc.; Big Brothers Big Sisters of Erie, Niagara and the Southern Tier; Boys & Girls Clubs of the Northtowns of WNY; Buffalo Niagara Waterkeeper; FeedMore WNY, Inc.; Imagine Community Gardens, Inc.; Independent Health Foundation; Newfane Public Library; Niagara Falls Boys & Girls Club; The Salvation Army; and Youth Mentoring Services of Niagara County, Inc.

The NAF uses the expertise and infrastructure of the Community Foundation to guide and support its work. This affiliation provides clients and nonprofits access to staffing, efficiencies and best practices in collective buying power, while maintaining their own giving priorities. The Community Foundation provides support for the NAF in grantmaking, fund development, client services, investment oversight, accounting and fiduciary reporting.

Apply for a Community Grant

Niagara Area Foundation Council Officers

Jennifer Pauly
Lewiston, Chair

Michael Williamson
Niagara Falls, Vice Chair

Margaret Nucci
Youngstown, Secretary

Jane Killewald
North Tonawanda, Treasurer


Julie R. Berrigan, MS

Allen Booker
Niagara Falls

Brenda Dysinger

Dorothy Kelley
Niagara Falls

Marianne E. Koenig

Michelle Vanstrom

Patricia Wrobel
North Tonawanda

Richard Zucco
Niagara Falls

Niagara Area Foundation Community Connections Newsletter

Click here to view our 2022 Newsletter,
Niagara Area Foundation Community Connections.





Click here to view our 2021 Newsletter,
Niagara Area Foundation Community Connections.