Our scholarship process is now open. Click here to learn more.


21st Century Fund

For more information about the 21st Century Fund competitive grants process click here.

Attention 21st Century Fund members! We are excited to announce the dates of both virtual events and ask you to mark them down on your calendars.









2020 21st Century Grant Winner 

With the $100,000 grant it received from the 21st Century Fund, FeedMore WNY was able to fund its GrowMore for Good project, a 320 sq. ft. box that houses a hydroponic farm.

This healthy food oasis supplies fresh produce to more than 129,000 individuals every month who turn to its 300 agencies for food to thrive. It is capable of producing 200 lbs. of produce a week, which is harvested and distributed within 24-48 hrs.

Representatives of the Niagara Falls Boys & Girls Club, the winning nonprofit organization of the 2018 21st Century Fund grant, pose for photographs with the presentation check alongside Clotilde Perez- Bode Dedecker, President/CEO, Community Foundation for Greater Buffalo, and Ted Borowiak and Carolyn Human, Co-Chairs of the 21st Century Fund.

The 21st Century Fund is a giving circle that is open to anyone who wants to give back to Western New York. All it takes is a onetime membership fee, and then you’re a member for life. Every two years, members vote to provide a $100,000 grant to one nonprofit organization.

Members have the opportunity to network with others who care about Western New York, learn about critical community needs, hear about innovative local projects and meet the dynamic leaders of area nonprofit organizations.



Membership in the fund is $2,100 for any individual, family or organization that wishes to take part – $1,000 if you are age 35 or under. Membership pledges can be paid over the course of five years.

For more information about membership or if you are a member and want to join one of the committees, please contact Andrew Gaerte, Associate Vice President, Giving Strategies, by email at andrewg@cfgb.org or at (716) 852-2857 ext. 207.


2021–2022 Steering Committee

Ted Borowiak, Co-chair

Carolyn Human, Co-chair

Jayne Rand

Michele Schmidt

Application Review Committee

Michele Schmidt, chair

Ted Borowiak

Kate Bukowski

Jane Constantine

Ann Galbraith

Peter Gold

Anita Herle Ladori

Emily Hettrick

Alex Montante

Susan Siwiec